Unintended consequences.

Sometimes, just when I need it, I get a reminder of something that I’d forgotten.

My last post was in response to movement by some to have age restrictions placed on tanning beds in Saskatchewan.  Click the link to read and you can check out the discussion on Twitter.

So, what did I forget?  When advocating looking at the big picture, I referred to absolute risk of melanoma and the impact of the proposed legislation. I forgot to take another step back and look at the really big picture of all cause mortality.  Often in health research, we discover that an intervention to prevent one outcome actually increases other outcomes.

A tweet from @#JWF# reminded me to do this with respect to this specific topic:

jwf tweetThe study that he refers to was conducted in Sweden and published in the Journal of Internal Medicine.

 

 

Leave a Reply

